Town Of Ulster

Police Department

Kyle S. Berardi, Chief of Police

Town of Ulster Town Hall
1 Town Hall Drive
Lake Katrine, NY 12449
(845) 382-1111 Tipline: (845) 336-3784

The Town of Ulster formed its first law enforcement body in 1879, consisting of four constables. In 1983 the Town of Ulster Town Board abolished the constabulary and formed the Town's first civil service Police Department. Today the Ulster Police Department consists of twenty-four full-time sworn officers.


The Ulster Police Department includes the patrol, detective and juvenile divisions, communications and administration. The Patrol division includes an award-winning Police K-9 unit which aids officers in narcotics apprehension, tracking and general police duties.


Other responsibilities of the Department include the School Resource Office (SRO), certified hostage negotiators, snipers, Emergency Service Unit members, community policing programs, to name just a few. On June 6, 2002 the Ulster Police Department was recognized by the Department of Criminal Justice as an "Accredited Agency", and has been reaccredited every five years since then, most recently on June 8, 2017. 


The Ulster Police Department:
  • Actively participates with Operation Safe Child ID Program.
  • Maintains three certified child passenger safety seat technicians.
  • Partners with MedicAlert Foundation to provide community members with dementia and autism, free medical identification bracelets. 
Hours of Operation: